Stewart

$250

Stewart Ennis - Scottish writer & mature PhD student looking for temporary home.


Nationality United Kingdom
Gender Male
Type Student
Place of Study Curtin Bentley
Campus Bentley
Needs From 31 Aug 2020
Needs To 31 Aug 2021
Needs Internet Yes
Smokes? No
Needs Airport Pickup? No
Okay with Pets Yes

I am a 58 year old mature student doing a collaborative practice based PhD in the Creative Writing department of the University of Aberdeen and Curtin University WA. I will be coming to Western Australia for the second year of my PhD. The nature of my PhD means that I will not have to be on campus every day so I am happy to live a fair distance away. Even a couple of hours away by train or bus is not a problem.

A little about me. I have a 21 year old daughter (also at University in Aberdeen) and I live in Glasgow, Scotland, although I am originally from a small village in the West of Scotland. For most of my working life I've been involved in theatre as a playwright, actor and tutor and my work has taken me far and wide. I also write poetry and fiction, and my first novel was published in Scotland llast winter. The practice part of my PhD also involves writing another novel, (part of which will be set in a contemporary and historical Australia) so I am looking for somewhere (fairly) quiet that will also allow to me to write. However I don't want to lock myself away; I also want to experience life in Australia.

I'm sociable and interested in people and their stories. As you can imagine from my background I have a particular interest in the arts; theatre, literature, music, food and so on. But I'm open minded and my tastes in everything are pretty eclectic, and as I mentioned above, I like people; young, old, and all points inbetween.

Contact